Academy Councillors

Academy Councillors

Yarnfield Primary & The Oaklands Primary Academy Council

Our Academy Councils play an important role in supporting the Board of Trustees and providing key elements of local governance for schools. The Oaklands Primary and Yarnfield Primary have a joint council consisting of representatives from both schools.

The Academy Council are responsible for:

  • Ensuring the academy is operating within the mission and ethos of the trust and contributing to the trust’s key strategic priorities.
  • Monitoring the quality of teaching and learning, attendance, behaviour and safety, within the academy and progress against the academy improvement plan.
  • Holding school leaders to account for improvement of standards in the school.
  • engaging with wider academy activities as a means of monitoring overall quality.
  • ensuring compliance with the Trusts policy for Safeguarding and that the Academy maintains a ‘culture of vigilance in respect of all safeguarding matters.
  • Appointing all staff except Principals, teaching staff on Leadership Scale and Support Staff on Grade 6 or above.

Please see below the members of the The Oaklands Primary and Yarnfield Primary Academy Council. For further details on the governance and statutory information of Ninestiles Academy Trust, please click here


Members Title
Ateef Azam Trustee / Chair
Mark Court The Oaklands Principal
Leah Charlesworth Yarnfield Executive Principal
Carol Phillips Primary Trust Principal
Rena Ali Yarnfield Head of School
Ben Coley The Oaklands Parent
Yazmeen Basheer The Oaklands Parent
Rahat Jabeen Yarnfield Parent
Akram Din Yarnfield Parent
Sue Edgington The Oaklands Staff
Adrian Thompson The Oaklands Staff
Natalie O’Brien The Oaklands Student Advocate
Dawn Harvey Yarnfield Student Advocate
Rob Osborne Trustee Appointee
Amelia Turnbull Trustee Appointee
Ian Carnell Trustee Appointee
Mary LeBreuilly Trustee Appointee / Vice Chair
Vacancy Yarnfield Staff